ANCHOR 2023 Jury



Since 2016, the ANCHOR Reeperbahn Festival International Music Award has helped set young bands and music artists en route to their international careers and symbolises the collective search for the best new music. Just taking part in this unique competition is a prestigious achievement for bands and artists: it's a prominent launch pad that gets nominees noticed by the media and the public in advance, likewise the presentation of the participants by the ANCHOR Jury at the Reeperbahn Festival Opening.

The distinguished international ANCHOR Jury (photo) will attend the Reeperbahn Festival shows of the six nominees at Gruenspan on Thursday, 21 and Friday, 22 September, before finally choosing the winner at the ANCHOR Award Show at St. Pauli Theater on Saturday, 23 September.

The jury is faced with a tricky task again this year: The ANCHOR Board, made up of top-ranking representatives from the media and the music industry, assures the consistently high quality of the participating bands and artists, which include names such as Shame (GBR), Jade Bird (GBR, 2017 winner), Alice Merton (GER), Alyona Alyona (UKR, 2019 winner), Celeste (GBR), ÄTNA (DEU, 2020 winners), Yard Act (GBR, 2021 winners) and Cassia (GBR, 2022 winners). 

This year's ANCHOR Jury includes songwriter, producer, poet and director BANKS (USA), who released her fourth album "SERPENTINA" last year, Grammy-nominated producer, songwriter, singer, activist, entrepreneur, label owner and actress Tayla Parx (USA), one of the leading voices in the music business today and returning this year for the third time, songwriter, singer and producer Katie Melua (GBR), regarded as one of the most successful artists in her home country with over 56 platinum awards and eight consecutive top ten albums, and last but nut least jury president Tony Visconti (USA), who, as a producer was instrumental in shaping the careers of David Bowie and T-Rex and is widely acknowledged as one of the most important producers in rock history

More News

Ichiko Aoba

Ichiko Aoba wins ANCHOR 2023

nominees 2023

ANCHOR Nominees 2023

ANCHOR Board 2023

The ANCHOR Board 2023