Albin Lee Meldau wins ANCHOR 2016


Albin Lee Meldau wins ANCHOR 2016

The ANCHOR 2016 goes to the Swedish soul and pop musician Albin Lee Meldau from Gothenburg, Sweden.

On Saturday September 24, 2016, 400 invited guests saw the ANCHOR - Reeperbahn Festival International Music Award being presented for the first time at the St. Pauli Theater in Hamburg, Germany.

The winner was thrilled and spontaneously performed an unplugged version of his song “Blood Shot“. The jury members Tony Visconti, Emiliana Torrini, Ray Cokes, Anna Ternheim, Y’akoto and James Minor reached the difficult decision after watching the performances of all eight nominees throughout the Reeperbahn Festival. Albin Lee Meldau wowed fans and jury members with his unique and unconventional mix of influences from soul and pop and a captivating performance. 

“It was a tough decision. We have found an outstanding winner in Albin Lee Meldau. His sound is truly unique. We are looking forward to follow his career”, explained Tony Visconti, giving the reasons for the jury's decision.Albin Lee Meldau is honoured to have won the award: “The Anchor is such a great gift and I am grateful for the support it gives to me.”

The ANCHOR – Reeperbahn Festival International Music Award was presented for the first time this year. It is designed to set a new standard for the most promising talent on the international music scene. Alexander Schulz, initiator of the award and director of the Reeperbahn Festival, is pleased that the premiere was such a success: “The international music scene needed a quality standard that is respected by both fans and the music industry. Now there’s the ANCHOR - a valuable recognition of the winner's talent. And the nominees also benefit from the attention raised by the ANCHOR.”

Find all the photos of ANCHOR 2016 - The Show in our media gallery or watch ANCHOR - The Documentary below

More News

ANCHOR 2018 findet im Rahmen des Reeperbahn Festivals vom 19 - 22 September 2018 statt!


Part of Reeperbahn Festival 19 - 22 September 2018
ANCHOR wishes you a happy new year!

ANCHOR wishes you a happy new year!

Reeperbahn Festival's Award for the best emerging talent says "thank you" for a phenomenal second year.

Fenne Lily presents new video!

Video for "Three Oh Nine" out now!